So, you’ve decided to buy a truck in a state other than Florida.
Maybe, you’ve heard about great discounts at a dealership that lies across the state border. Maybe, the make and model you want isn’t available among the used garbage trucks for sale in Florida. Whatever the reason may be, you are not sure how to go about it.
Buying a truck out-of-state is a daunting prospect considering the fickle process involved in buying a vehicle combined with the hundreds of miles you’d have to travel to do so.
But it’s not completely unheard of, and if you’re interested in buying a truck in a state other than Florida, you need to be prepared. Here are a few tips for buying a truck in a different state:
- Is the Truck Available and Do You Have Everything You Need?
Most times, you’re not the only one who wants to buy the same truck. You don’t want to spend precious time and energy researching, preparing and traveling only to find out someone bought the truck you wanted.
Call the dealership and confirm whether they’re holding the truck for you, and check and double-check whether you have all the documents you need. You can never be too careful while buying a vehicle.
Also, have a backup or two in place (a similar or the same truck at another dealership) in case the deal goes south.
- Know Florida Truck Registration Requirements
You might be buying the truck in a different state, but unless you plan to move, you’d be driving the truck in your home state of Florida. As a result, you have to make sure your new truck is in line with the requirements and standards defined by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
The state of Florida requires residents to own vehicle insurance. Florida is a no-fault insurance state. What does that mean? If you’re injured in an accident, your insurance will cover your medical costs up to the limits defined by your policy whether you caused the accident or not.
As a resident of Florida, you must purchase PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance and PDL (Property Damage Liability) insurance. The minimum limits for vehicle insurance coverage are $10,000 for both PIP and PDL.
Since you’d be buying your truck from a dealership in another state, they will handle the paperwork required to get you a temporary title/registration so that you can drive the truck home. They’ll also be required to transfer the title/registration to Florida within 30 days as per Florida law.
When you register your vehicle for the first time in Florida, the state will charge you a sales tax and other discretionary taxes.
You would be responsible for a Florida sales or use tax amounting to 6% and any local discretionary taxes your new city or county might require. Florida sales tax will be pro-rated based upon any taxes you paid in another state.
You should have a thorough knowledge of these requirements and standards before you cross the border in search of a truck.
- Bring It Back Home!
Now, all that’s left is to bring the truck home. All you need for that is a valid driver’s license.
Buying any vehicle, let alone a truck from another state is an intimidating proposition considering all the factors involved. Perform a thorough history, body and safety check, follow the law to the letter and drive home with a brand new truck!